Uncategorized

Little is Much When God is in it

“And God is able to give you more than you need, so that you will always have all you need for yourselves and more than enough for every good cause.” 2 Corinthians 9:8

I got an unexpected check from Sallie Mae a few weeks ago! Unheard of, right? Since I owe the Department of Education, I was tempted to call their offices to find out why they sent me a check and not a bill.

But then I remembered my recent prayers. Did I not ask God to help me pay my debts and believe that He would? Of course I did.

At the time, I was not the least bit concerned about how He was going to do it, so why start now? The fact that He did it through my debtor is proof that He doesn’t only show up when we least expect Him to; He shows up how  we least expect Him to.

Image

There was a widow in the Bible who was struggling financially. Her husband had just died and the creditors were coming to take her sons to sell them into slavery (people were used as collateral in those days).

All she had was a small jar of oil. She ran into Elisha, a prophet, and shared her dilemma with him. He told her to borrow jars from her neighbors and fill each of them up with oil. Keep in mind, all she had was a small jar of oil.

The widow did as Elisha advised her to do. She closed herself and her sons inside of their home and started filling the jars. When all the jars were filled, the oil stopped flowing. She went back to Elisha and told him about it. He told her to sell the jars to pay off her debt and live off of whatever amount of money was left (read 2 Kings 4:1-7).

God did not only use her deficit (her small jar of oil) to pay off her creditors; He gave her a surplus.

Have you ever had less than enough and were forced to stretch it to make ends meet? It didn’t work out the way you imagined it would, did it? A few of your debts were probably left unpaid…

I didn’t have enough money to take care of my monthly expenses before I received the check in the mail. I was stressing about it because I did not want to fall behind on my payments (or my credit score impacted). And I certainly did not want to borrow.

It’s not that I am too proud to ask people for help but I really believe that I share the blessings of Abraham — that means I am a lender and not a borrower — and I am a joint-heir with Jesus per Romans 8:17.

I did the only thing that was plausible at the time (and still is). I let go and let God. I prayed and left my burdens at the altar. In a matter of days, He sent me the funds via Sallie Mae. Not only was I able to pay my bills, but I got to give an offering at church on Easter Sunday.

Glory to God!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Little is Much When God is in it”

  1. Wow, I have a similar story that just happened today – same worries as you. Finally prayed about things this morning and gave the worry to God. About an hour later my husband texted to say that there would be a quarterly bonus that will be in his paycheck tomorrow. Amen.

  2. God do exists and miracle also happen.
    Blaise Pascal the great mathematician and scientist, believes in the existence of God, and realized the existence of God at some point of his life.
    And then he wrote the book Pensées on mystical powers. Do check how many times the word miracle mentioned in the book. regards, http://YourWellWisherProgram.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

